Avis E. Dearing
September 13, 1933 - June 20, 2019
Light a candle Light a candle
Light a Candle

Charity Donations

Make a Memorial Donation

Charity
Make a Memorial Donation
Donate Now

Avis E. Dearing, 85, of Toledo, Ohio passed away peacefully on June 20, 2019. She is survived by her children, Julie (Terry) Hood, Becky Dearing, and Shawn (Lisa) Dearing; 6 grandchildren; and 11 great-grandchildren. She was preceded in death by her husband, William “Bill” Dearing. Avis and Bill founded the Dearing Greenhouse in 1954, and…

Continue Reading
Margaret Currie left a message on July 18, 2019:
Randy and I are saddened to learn of Avis' death. I became acquainted with her at Asbury Church where she played handbells and I was the director-organist. She and Bill were such good Christian people, I played for Bill's funeral. Avis made us special signature-piano pillowcases and we use them often. While you are grieving, remember that Avis is where she wants to be, with Bill and they both are in their Eternal Home. Blessings and God's peace to you. Randy and Margaret Currie
Jane Kidder left a message on July 7, 2019:
Please accept our deepest sympathy on the passing of Avis. I have read the comments and realized that her and Bill's love spread far & wide. My husband, daughter & I will hold tight to the memories we have of them. Their kindness, sincerity, generosity & welcoming spirit will forever be remembered. They were both a great source of love for us. They were wise and offered advice that still rings true. We are truly sorry for the void in the lives of those who loved them. We are equally blessed to have been able to love and surround ourselves in their company. What a great example they are, of how to treat one another. Many prayers and love to you all.
Becky Baumberger-Eppard left a message on June 24, 2019:
My heartfelt condolences to the family of Avis. I was lucky enough to know her through my Aunt Gloria. I remember visiting the farm many times and enjoying my time spent there. With deepest sympathy, Becky Eppard
Hannah Schmidt (mears) left a message on June 24, 2019:
Avis was very special to my Mom, Sue. After my grandma’s death, I think Avis helped fill the void in some way. I loved how Avis kept index cards about everyone! I regret not being closer to her or surprising her with a greenhouse visit we joked about. Ironically, I just came across my monogrammed beach towel yesterday that she gave to me at my graduation party. My husband and I use ours every summer that she gifted to us at our wedding. Avis and Bill we’re both very funny . We still laugh to this day about certain situations! I’m sure that they’re both in heaven right now sharing some laughs now that they’re together again. They’ll both be dearly missed.
SUE MEARS left a message on June 24, 2019:
I can hardly put into words how much she will be missed! I loved her so much and think of her often! Julie, Becky and Shawn you will be in my prayers. Love you all! Susie
Peace of mind is a call away. We’re here when you need us most.
Lauren left a message on June 23, 2019:
To the family and friends, I am so very sorry to hear of your great loss. I hope you can find comfort in the words at Revelation 21:4 where it says: "And he (Jehovah God) will wipe out every tear from their eyes, and death will be no more, neither will mourning nor outcry nor pain be anymore. The former things have passed away." www.jw.org
Cremation Society of Toledo left a message:
Please accept our deepest condolences for your family's loss.
Show More