Avis E. Dearing
September 13, 1933 - June 20, 2019
Light a candle Light a candle
Light a Candle

Charity Donations

Make a Memorial Donation

Charity
Make a Memorial Donation
Donate Now

Avis E. Dearing, 85, of Toledo, Ohio passed away peacefully on June 20, 2019. She is survived by her children, Julie (Terry) Hood, Becky Dearing, and Shawn (Lisa) Dearing; 6 grandchildren; and 11 great-grandchildren. She was preceded in death by her husband, William “Bill” Dearing. Avis and Bill founded the Dearing Greenhouse in 1954, and…

Continue Reading
Becky Baumberger-Eppard left a message on June 24, 2019:
My heartfelt condolences to the family of Avis. I was lucky enough to know her through my Aunt Gloria. I remember visiting the farm many times and enjoying my time spent there. With deepest sympathy, Becky Eppard
Hannah Schmidt (mears) left a message on June 24, 2019:
Avis was very special to my Mom, Sue. After my grandma’s death, I think Avis helped fill the void in some way. I loved how Avis kept index cards about everyone! I regret not being closer to her or surprising her with a greenhouse visit we joked about. Ironically, I just came across my monogrammed beach towel yesterday that she gave to me at my graduation party. My husband and I use ours every summer that she gifted to us at our wedding. Avis and Bill we’re both very funny . We still laugh to this day about certain situations! I’m sure that they’re both in heaven right now sharing some laughs now that they’re together again. They’ll both be dearly missed.
SUE MEARS left a message on June 24, 2019:
I can hardly put into words how much she will be missed! I loved her so much and think of her often! Julie, Becky and Shawn you will be in my prayers. Love you all! Susie
Sean Kazmierczak left a message on June 23, 2019:
Both Avis and Bill were influential role models for my family and especially me growing up at Asbury United Methodist. I loved them dearly and they were both like grandparents to me. They were loving, giving, warm hearted souls who loved God and loved serving him. They always welcomed visits and some of my fondest memories include visiting them at their home and Bill going on and on about political matters while I attempted to sound as knowledgeable and passionate as he was and Avis just always asking if she could get us anything and making us neat embroidered items including a beach towel (that I still use to this day). She would also always cut out newspaper articles that pertained to our lives in some way and give them to us making us feel loved and special. They even helped to buy my very first car some 12 years ago without ever expecting anything in return. You both were even there the day I graduated from the Ohio State Highway Patrol Academy. I could go on and on about how much I looked up to these two wonderful, God loving people and the impact they had on my life but will sum it up with this. Bill and Avis, I know I did not see you much the last several years while I have been growing my family but you will forever be in my heart and I know you are up in heaven smiling down and watching over all the people you impacted while on Earth. I look forward to the day we meet again in heaven. Love you and miss you both.
Lauren left a message on June 23, 2019:
To the family and friends, I am so very sorry to hear of your great loss. I hope you can find comfort in the words at Revelation 21:4 where it says: "And he (Jehovah God) will wipe out every tear from their eyes, and death will be no more, neither will mourning nor outcry nor pain be anymore. The former things have passed away." www.jw.org
Cremation Society of Toledo left a message:
Please accept our deepest condolences for your family's loss.
Show More